I just wanted to clarify that a lemure can't be activated twice in a row? If this is true then it might be worth clarifying in the rule book (unless it already is and I missed it?)
Hello,
A lemure cant' be activated twice in a row since every lemure is unruly (insoumis) which means that it can't get a "vae soli" order.
According to page 28 of the English rules, a Lemure can be activated twice in the same turn.
Citation de: Dr.Mercury le Mars 19, 2008, 22:44:05 PM
According to page 28 of the English rules, a Lemure can be activated twice in the same turn.
A lemure can be activated twice in same turn but :
you must activate another troop between its two activations
you don't make un "vae soli" order to activate it twice
it can't be activated the second time if it's the last troop to move
in the french rules, it's very clear.... may be the translation isn't good ?
PS : Sorry for my awful english :P
Citation de: Nathanaekl le Mars 20, 2008, 00:35:53 AMin the french rules, it's very clear.... may be the translation isn't good ?
The translation is very clear on that point as well. Everything is explained on p28 of the official translation as Dr. Mercury pointed out.
Even the previous unofficial translation was very clear on the matter (p14), I really don't see where the confusion could have arisen from.
Hi Mathieu,
Page 28 only states that a Lemure can be activated twice per turn but doesn't specifically forbid it being activated twice in a row or clarify when the two activations occur...maybe I missed this bit?
Rob
Sorry Rob, I think I got confused with the past few posts. My mistake, I apologize if my post sounded snappy ;)
I think you are right and the book doesn't explicitly state that they can't be activated twice in a row. However Bebert's and Nathanaeki's explanations are the reasons why this can't happen (you'd need to give them an order they can't receive to activate them a second time in a row).
Hi Matthieu,
I didn't take it as you being snappy...I work as a consultant so it's like water off a ducks back (hopefully this phrase translates ok :-). If you want to be snappy I expect at least half the post to be in CAPS LOCK :-)
So back to the topic - my suggestion would be to update the section on Lemures to clearly state they can't be activated twice in a row without first activating another character otherwise I can see other people being confused as well.
To end the post on a positive note the fact that we're talking about stuff like this is testament to how great a game Helldorado really is...bring on the Buddhists :-)
I think there is still room for confusion here but maybe I'm wrong: you CAN activate a lemur twice in a row, meaning 2 of your consecutive turns but as explained above you cannot give it a Vae Soli which is an order (and lemurs can't receive any). You do NOT have to activate another one of your miniature in between though.
As regards to clarifications needed in the rules I don't think there is any room for interpretation. The key aspect to understand is that your opponent MUST have a chance to react in between, as stated page 28.
... I think it is useful, IMO, to simply describe the lemur's activation as being split into 2 'phases' that your opponent must at least have one reaction to (but not necessarily try to do anything about it, that's his choice). If you think in these terms the entire set of special rules affecting lemures come naturally:
- it can move twice his deplacement in the course of a turn as any other fig but must halt half way into his movement.
- it can't resolve the second part of his turn allowance to movement if there are no enemy figure in waiting.
- it counts as a figure in waiting for the accounting of reserves until it has executed the second 'phase' of his activation.
At least that's the way I explain it to new players and AFAIK this is 100% correct and probably how Geof came up with the finer details of how they are used (in other words I'm willing to bet that at the early stage of playtesting they could move 2xDPT and had only one 'activation', it just proved too powerful).
You absolutely cannot move a lemur twice in a row, you have to activate another of your units in between its activations.
This rule is so strong that if you activate the lemur (for the first time) after all your other guys, then it cannot use its second move (because that would break the above rule), and just has to forfeit that second activation.
Citation de: Corto le Avril 21, 2008, 06:05:39 AM
You absolutely cannot move a lemur twice in a row, you have to activate another of your units in between its activations.
This rule is so strong that if you activate the lemur (for the first time) after all your other guys, then it cannot use its second move (because that would break the above rule), and just has to forfeit that second activation.
Mmmm.
I read it more like Rogues way. A Lemure cannot be activated twice in a row, but an enemy activation does count. You can move the Lemure, then an enemy, then the Lemure again.
Citation de: Dogmeat le Avril 21, 2008, 09:21:58 AM
Citation de: Corto le Avril 21, 2008, 06:05:39 AM
You absolutely cannot move a lemur twice in a row, you have to activate another of your units in between its activations.
This rule is so strong that if you activate the lemur (for the first time) after all your other guys, then it cannot use its second move (because that would break the above rule), and just has to forfeit that second activation.
Mmmm.
I read it more like Rogues way. A Lemure cannot be activated twice in a row, but an enemy activation does count. You can move the Lemure, then an enemy, then the Lemure again.
Yep, I read the rules the same way. As long as the opponent has a chance to react to the initial lemure activation, you can activate it again, after the opponents activation.
My bad, it's the other player who needs to activate in between.
Please accept my apologies.