As I was going over the special abilities and other rules I noticed that some of abilities had an X placed next to them in the rulebook to indicate a value associated with the ability such as terror and Charisma. On some of the Officers that I was reviewing I noticed that they did not have a value associated with the special ability, does that mean that special ability score is 1 then?
Yes, the default value is 1.
It does say that in the rules somewhere, I'm sure.
In the French rules, it's in a highlight box at the beginning of the Abilities section. Should be the same in English, but I haven't checked.
Yup, page 34, in the box titled "Special Ability with or without a value of X". RTFB, folks. :)